WELCOME to the Small Book Blog! I am a voracious reader. I love losing myself in books and cannot wait to read myself into my next adventure. It is because of this love for books that I created this blog. I want to share my passion of books with you! I hope you enjoy my recommendations and reviews. My goal is that they will lead you to a new book, series or author, that you can fall in love with and recommend to others as well.

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Lisa Jackson & Nancy Bush's Wicked Lies

I try to read all of Jackson’s books that take place in my native state of Oregon. It is fun to visualize the characters racing around places I have actually been. In Wicked Lies the novel is staged up on the Oregon coast, around Seaside. Ultimately though, I was disappointed in this book. I felt like the basic plot had a good design and story line planned to work with, but once it was fleshed out there was a redundancy to it that taxed my wanting to move forward with the narration. The book is set up to be a darkly suspenseful tale with romance woven throughout it and a chillingly evil mass murderer named Justice. There was even a supernatural air to the Siren Song females, they all had Talents and were named after famous oracles and mythological characters. However, there were a few places where I felt like the authors either got stuck in the plot and were spinning their wheels without moving the story on or wanted to, again, tell the reader the same thing they already had to ensure we really got it. For me it was frustrating. I was able to skim ahead and not miss anything. I also felt like there was a forced sexual tension to Laura and Harrison’s relationship. I think it would have happened naturally but the authors over worked it.

There was another element to the book, and this may be a possible spoiler alert to some of you readers out there. I have recently experienced two miscarriages. Part of the story line in Wicked Lies revolves around one of the characters finding out she is pregnant and then later on she has a miscarriage. The author did an amazing job with this subject. However, the evil character in the book, Justice, has such horrific thoughts, sneering comments, disturbing images, and feelings delivered with such a grossly evil air that I found myself beyond disturbed. I could barely stomach or listen to Justice’s comments about the miscarriage. I do not know if this is good or bad that the author was successful in creating this emotion. I do not know what the author was trying to accomplish but as a reader who has been through miscarriages, and recently, it was too much for me. It did further my horror of the Justice character but… I do not know. I would be interested in what other readers think of this.

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Sophie Kinsella's I've Got Your Number

I’ve Got Your Number  is a funny and quirky book. This book had a great pace, had me constantly guessing if Kinsella was going to do something typical or unique (and over half the time it was awesome and unique). I found myself either laughing out loud or on pins and needles getting to what was going to happen next while my mind raced with what I thought should happen.  It was also fun to read a book that was able to successfully incorporate today’s technology world of communication via texting and emails and meld them into a fairy tale of sorts. Or as the movie Friends with Benefits calls it: @ftale. Poppy and Sam were definitely the couple for the job.

I have read Sophie Kinsella before and besides her Shop-a-holic series have enjoyed her stories. There were times in the past I found myself getting frustrated or annoyed with the main character in the books. In I’ve Got Your Number, this was not a problem. I actually felt that Kinsella loved this story and her main and side characters to build this romantic comedy. If you are looking for a story that is outrageous, laugh out loud, and touches the heart I would definitely recommend this novel. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, I would say, “She’s back.”

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Reveal It Thursday!

What is everyone’s bookish desires this week? Any must reads? I have been hearing quite a bit of chatter about the 50 Shades trilogy this week. I believe the third book in the trilogy was released this month. I admit, I am surprised that the blogging world and mass-media have come together to advocate an erotic trilogy. I added it to my “to-read” shelf but have not rushed out to get it yet. Besides that I am eagerly awaiting my latest Barnes and Noble purchase. It should be here anytime. I am looking forward to Nora Robert’s new novel, The Witness, and another book that is older but has remained on the “must-read” and “top seller” lists called Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. I was also kind enough to get my hubby some new authors to try out. He has been more and more interested in reading historical fiction and that sci-fi/historical fiction cross….like the Game of Thrones series or the Blade Itself series. Anyone have suggestions for the hubby?

Have a great weekend and happy reading! Haunt some bookshelves for new favorites for me.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Michael Connelly's The Fifth Witness

The Fifth Witness is the fourth book in the Mickey Haller series. This was a fun, fresh, and exciting legal story. When I started the book and realized that it was going to be centered on one trial and the ins and outs of this one trial, I admit, I thought to myself, “How is this going to work? This might turn into a tedious read.” However, Connelly proved me wrong (Wahoo!). I actually felt like I was part of the Mickey Haller legal team. I think that is one of the reasons I would recommend any of the Mickey Haller series and The Fifth Witness I would absolutely recommend. I would suggest to my dear readers that you read them in order, but you do not have to. I enjoy getting to know the Mickey Haller character on a personal level and not just as a lawyer. Reading them in order allows that character build up. I still feel like I sometimes have a love/hate relationship with Mickey Haller because of his smarmy lawyer antics and tricks but then he always redeems himself with the love and care he shows his family and team.

The Fifth Witness has a great build up. It is the piecing together of a puzzle. The fun part is, and one of the reasons I felt I was part of the legal team, because it felt like I was helping piece the puzzle together the same time Haller and his team were. We get to follow the investigation, discovery, inside and outside of the courtroom, all to try to find out how we are going to get a “not guilty” verdict for the defendant represented. The last few chapters of The Fifth Witness were great and I love them! Sorry, no spoilers!

I would recommend the Mickey Haller series as amusing, with creative strategies and exciting legal stories with high courtroom drama. Michael Connelly is definitely on a role with this series and I can’t wait for the next one. I loved that I started this book and ended up devouring it within days.  In the mean time, I will have to give Haller’s brother a shot with Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch series.

Carolyn MacCullough's Always a Witch

Always a Witch is the second book in, what I imagine, will be a series of sorts. I actually do not know. Always a Witch is at least a follow up book to Once a Witch. This was a supernatural YA book revolving around a family of witches in a battle to save their heritage, their power. It has some romance, quirky family members, drama and action. For this novel I would recommend you do what I did not: re-read Once a Witch and then jump into Always a Witch. I think you would enjoy the characters more and remember the intricacies of the plot that bled into this second novel. That said, I don’t have much to write about it other than to say, read both books or the first book but I wouldn’t read just this second novel. The joy it could bring you just won’t be there. You need the backstories and histories.  I would recommend it to people who read Once a Witch because it brings closure to some of the big plots and prophesies. I would recommend this series to YA readers who enjoy stories of witches and the supernatural. Just remember, there are no Weres or Vampires, just your usual “good witch vs. evil witch.”

Sunday, April 15, 2012

Happy Sunday

Hello all! Sorry for the silence. I have been on a secret birthday mission and unable to share my reading adventures the last two weeks. The birthday mission is now complete, and was a totally successful surprise! WAHOO! That said I am back to share my reading adventures.

My topic today is about real books vs. e-books. I currently do not have an e-book but I am realizing I might have to get one for reviewing books. I have had 2 authors approach me but they are only in e-book form. I LOVE real books though and have been fighting to not get a kindle or nook book. What do you guys read? Real books? E-books? A mixture of both? I would love to hear your pros, cons, and reasons. The most recent one I heard, that finally rang with me, was from a close friend. They have two toddlers and said they love their kindle because they can read as many books as they can cram in, BUT they don’t have to find the room for the books nor do they have to worry about the books being ruined.